If you’re a server in Tennessee, you may wonder if you need an ABC card to serve beer. The short answer to this question is “Yes, you do.” A person must have On-Premise Permit (Server Permit) in order to serve liquor, wine and high gravity beer at an establishment that holds an On-Premise Consumption License (Liquor By the Drink License). The permit is valid for 5 years from the date that it is issued.
What steps do you need to take to get your ABC card in Tennessee? Read on!
Requirements to get an ABC Card
- You must be at least eighteen (18) years old
- You must complete a TABC certified alcohol awareness program within the previous year prior to applying for an On-Premise Server Permit
Once you have your certificate of completion, you must apply for your permit, which you can do online via the Regulatory Licensing Permit System. However, this certificate is not your permit.
Also, if you don’t obtain your permit within one year of successfully completing the course, you’ll need to attend (and pass!) a training course again. The permit itself costs $20— and remember, this fee is a lot cheaper than the fines you’ll be hit with if you’re discovered serving beer without your ABC card.
There’s one exception to the rule: New servers have a one time sixty-one (61) day grace period from their original date of hire to attend a TABC certified alcohol awareness training class and have a server permit on file with the establishment of hire.
So, if you are hired by an establishment with an On-Premise Consumption License on March 1, you have 61 days (or until May 1) to attend and obtain your server permit. You would be able to serve beer or other alcohol during this grace period.
Also, make note that this is a one time grace period. If you change jobs, you will not be given a new grace period each time.
Restrictions to obtaining an ABC Card
Keep in mind these restrictions when you’re ready to get an ABC Card:
- An individual may not have a felony conviction for an offense that bears directly on the applicant’s fitness to practice competently, as determined by the commission.
- An individual may not have a conviction for any crime related to the sale of alcoholic beverages, beer, schedules 1 and 2 controlled substances, controlled substance analogues, or any sex-related crime, or embezzlement within the previous eight (8) years
- An individual may not have had an employee or server permit or similar permit issued in a foreign jurisdiction revoked by an issuing authority within the previous five (5) years
- An individual may not have had any ownership interest in any wholesale, retail, liquor-by-the-drink, or beer license or permit revoked by the using authority within the previous eight (8) years
Ready to get your ABC card so you can legally serve beer in Tennessee? Aim To Serve is here to help! We offer state-sanctioned classes, both on- and off-premise, so you’re sure to find a class that works with your schedule! Click here to contact us today!